Time To Feel

  • Such Productions – 2013
  • Musicians:  Herve Samb (g, comp), Reggie Washington (b, dble b), Chander Sardjoe (dms), Olivier Témime (ts), Alioune Seck (sabars perc), Daniel Moreno (perc), Jozef Dumoulin (pno), Alune Wade & Cheick Diallo (vcls)

Time to feel

Jazz with extra-large power, for this “African of the city”, as he defines himself. No doubt, this new formula is firmly rooted in jazz, which is still invented here and now, but never forgets where it comes from: the fertile groove of the blues, deeply rooted in Africa. This is what this quartet is talking about, a music as resolutely free as it is deeply rooted in a long tradition, between an all-acoustic ballad and more electric passages, post-bop harmonics and M’Base metrics, sensitive strings of a melodic guitar and superlative rhythm section. There is no doubt that in this quest, which has always pushed Hervé Samb to combine the fertile soil of his origins with the vast field of exploration of contemporary music, he can count on three partners who are in perfect harmony with his intentions.

Press

“We find on Time to Feel all the ingredients that make Hervé Samb one of the African continent’s greatest revelations at the beginning of the twenty-first century: softness and energy of a mega-melodic technique, feline groove, M-Base-influenced meter and circularity, polymorphic sonority encompassing the history of jazz-rock-electro-bop-acoustic, the blues and a transfigured Africa.” JAZZ MAGAZINE, October 2013

“The contrast is captivating between the explosive technique of the Senegalese guitarist (whose sonority seems to change with each chorus) and the fluidity of his rhythm section… with surgical precision, illustrating the perfect synthesis of a music that takes as much from African polyrhythms as urban jazz’s electricity… Sophisticated, epicurean, a gilt-edged jazz.” SELECTION JAZZ NEWS, October 2013

“On his most recent record, Time to Feel, powerful jazz on the edge of rock alternates with the most melancholic of compositions all the more benefiting from the Senegalese tradition, such as the very beautiful “Fathelekou”, in which he manages to reproduce the interweaving of arpeggios and independent melodies of the Mandika kora, and the equally beautiful “Sama Yaye”.” LESINROCKS.COM, September 17, 2013

‘Very attached to those connections tying Africa to African-American music, on Time to Feel the guitarist Hervé Samb digs deeply into the sonorities of his origins in cross-over or jazz compositions to find the cement for his improvisations and melodies.” TSF, DISQUE DU JOUR, September 23, 2013

Time To Feel

  • Such Productions – 2013
  • Musiciens :  Herve Samb (g, comp), Reggie Washington (b, dble b), Chander Sardjoe (dms), Olivier Témime (ts), Alioune Seck (sabars perc), Daniel Moreno (perc), Jozef Dumoulin (pno), Alune Wade & Cheick Diallo (vcls)

Time to feel

Du jazz à la puissance extralarge, pour cet « Africain de la ville », comme il se définit. Pas de doute, cette nouvelle formule est résolument ancrée dans le jazz qui s’invente toujours ici et maintenant, mais n’en oublie jamais d’où il vient : le fertile sillon du blues, enraciné dans l’Afrique. C’est de cela dont parle ce quartet, d’une musique aussi résolument libre qu’elle est profondément arrimée à une longue tradition, entre ballade tout acoustique et passages plus électriques, harmoniques post-bop et métriques M’Base, cordes sensibles d’une guitare mélodique et superlative section rythmique. Pas de doute, dans cette quête qui a toujours poussé Hervé Samb à conjuguer le fécond terreau de ses origines au vaste champ d’exploration des musiques actuelles, il peut compter sur trois complices au diapason de ses intentions.

Revue de presse

« On retrouve dans ce Time to Feel tous les ingrédients qui font qu’Hervé Samb est l’une des plus grandes révélations du continent africain en ce début du XXIème siècle : douceur et ressort d’un doigté hyper mélodique, groove félin, métriques et circularité d’esprit M-base, sonorité polymorphe balayant l’histoire du jazz-rock-électro-bop-acoustique, du blues et d’une Afrique transfigurée »****JAZZ MAGAZINE, octobre 2013

« Le contraste est saisissant entre le jeu éruptif du guitariste sénégalais (dont la sonorité semble changer à chaque chorus) et la fluidité d’une section rythmique … à la précision chirurgicale, illustration en parfaite synthèse d’une musique qui emprunte autant à la polyrythmie de l’Afrique qu’à l’électricité d’un jazz urbain… Sophistiqué, épicurien, du jazz doré sur la tranche » – SELECTION JAZZ NEWS, octobre 2013

« Dans son dernier disque, Time To Feel, les jazz puissants, aux frontières du rock, alternent avec des compositions plus mélancoliques et davantage marquées par la tradition sénégalaise, ainsi le très beau Fathelekou, dans lequel il réussit à reproduire l’entremêlement d’arpèges et de mélodies détachées d’une kora mandingue, et le non moins beau Sama Yaye. »Lesinrocks.com, 17 sept. 2013

« Très attaché aux liens qui l’unissent à l’Afrique et aux musiques afro-américaines, le guitariste Hervé Samb creuse dans Time To Feel les sonorités de ses origines dans des compositions « crossover » ou le Jazz sert de ciment à l’improvisation et aux mélodies. »TSF, DISQUE DU JOUR, 23 sept. 2013